Summer Pre-Season Outlook

First off I would like to thank Kuma-san for adding my blog at Tsuki-Board. I forgot to say that in the last post, sorry. I know I said the next post would have spring reviews and the summer pre-season talk, but with my final project hanging over my head I’ll have to leave the reviews until after the 20th. By then all my school stuff should be done and over with. Also if for whatever reason you don’t want your blog on my blogroll I can take it off (just putting that out there just in case).

Now for the main topic:

Summer has been creeping up on me for a while now. With only my final project in my art class left (which has been killing me) means that summer is drawing ever closer. And with summer comes, of course, the new series. I’ve had my eye out for a few for a while now, but it’s about time I took a look at the rest.

Here’s where I usually pick out the series I want to watch before hand, though I do watch the first episode of every new series just in case I miss a diamond in the rough.

summer-2009-v1

Well let’s get started. I’ll start with the ones I planned to watch long ago.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni

Murder and Mystery are two genres that I love together. And as far as Umineko goes,  it has both. I’ve played/read through the first 3 arcs of Umineko and I must tell you, it is amazing. I love it very very much (though I still have to finish the 4th arc). This is a series I have been looking forward to for months and after seeing the character sketches and finding out the original bgms and Shikata Akiko will be used in the series I nearly died from excitement. The thing about the character sketches was that I was worried that the characters would be deformed like in Higurashi (small bodies, huge heads) which would not work for Umineko at all, but luckily they look pretty solid. The fact that they’re going to use the original bgms AND Shikata Akiko had filled one of my biggest wishes for the series. The background music in Umineko is simply amazing, I can’t get enough of it. And I love Shikata Akiko’s work with Umineko. She did all the songs for the Umineko Motion Graphics which were fabulous (yes, I used that word).  Here are links to all of them (there are spoilers): UMG1, UMG2, UMG3, UMG4. And here is the “full” opening theme for Umineko (not the anime mind you, though that would be nice) which is also done by Shikata Akiko. Obvioulsy I’m looking forward to this series the most.

Axis Powers Hetalia

I’m happy that there’s going to be a second season because there’s no way 26 episodes that are only 5 minutes long would be able to do the series any justice. And that’s all I have to say about that (since I said so much about Umineko…).

Zan Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

I remember that after I watched the last episode of the OVA I told someone they needed to make more Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. And here it is in a third season. I just can’t get enough of this series so this was very good news for me. Definitely been going through a ZETSUBOUSHITA withdrawal and this will take care of that (orz i know that was lame).

Okay so now I’ll just list off the series to make things quick (in no particular order):

The “for sure going to watch” series: Umineko no Naku Koro ni, Hetalia 2, Zan Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, Aoi Hana, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0, Sora no Manimani, Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou, Kanamemo, Princess Lover!, and Setokai no Ichizon.

The “not too sure about” series: Canaan, Element Hunters, Bakemonogatari, Umi Monogatari, and GA: Geijutsuka Art Design Class (Hidamari Sketch wannabe?).

Other than those are the ones I’ll probably not watch (sequals such as Spice and Wolf aren’t on the list because I haven’t seen the first season).

Well with that out of the way I would like to introduce my new blog: Nuke-tan (Okuu) – Just Touhou. It’s where I’ll be posting news, music, rants, anything about Touhou. I figured it would just be best to make a separate blog since I want to leave the my Touhou rants off this one. If anything is really big news I’ll post it here too.

~ by udongein on May 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
